follow us on facebook

Munich Show Chorus

World Mixed Chorus Champion

The Munich Show Chorus is a mixed a cappella choir from Munich, Germany, under the direction of Jennifer Hoffman and Alexander Kulessa. The MSC performs music ranging from Voctave to Pentatonix, Doo Wop to Barbershop, Gospel to classical pieces.
As long as it's a cappella, we'll sing it!

The Munich Show Chorus was founded in 2015, inspired by the idea to build a home for young, talented and well educated singers in Munich. Since then the MSC has become one of the best choirs in the German a cappella scene.

Some of the highlights in this development were the performances at the "Deutsches Theater" in Munich in the professional production of "Disney's The Hunchback of Notre Dame“ in the fall of 2017 and winning the gold at the first world championship for mixed Barbershop choirs in April 2018.

Almost Paradise

Video Almost Paradise

Lyrics by DEAN PITCHFORD
Music by ERIC CARMEN
Arrangement by AARON DALE

Footloose

Video Footloose

Lyrics by KENNY LOGGINS and DEAN PITCHFORD
Music by KENNY LOGGINS
Arrangement by AARON DALE

Concerts

An a cappella Christmas

December 16, 2018

On Sunday, December 16, the Munich Show Chorus together with the women's choir Harmunichs and the men's choir Herrenbesuch will guide you through the wonderful world of a cappella Christmas music.

Further information about buying tickets, place and date can be found soon on this website. Or you could like us on facebook and never miss anything the MSC is up to.

follow us on facebook

Next generation a cappella

From the choir music of the Sistine Chapel of the 16th century to the harmonsing songs of the Comedian Harmonists at the beginning of the 19th century to Doo Wop in the 50's to contemporary a cappella music there have been many styles in the history of a cappella music.

There is much to learn from this history to add another chapter to it. Therefore the MSC is carrying forward as part of its mission the further education and training of its singers in the fields of vocal technique, stage performance and music theory and provide opportunities and inspiration to become original artists.

Musical Leadership

The Munich Show Chorus was founded and directed in its early years by Alexander Kulessa, a Barbershopper from Munich. As of January 2018 Jennifer Hoffman took over the musical development. First as an in-house coach and finally officially elected musical director at the retreat weekend in March. She directly led the choir to win the title at the world championship for mixed Barbershop choirs in April.

Jennifer Hoffman is an US-citizen and holds a bachelor degree in music education from Lenoir-Rhyne University. She served 11 years as the choral director of St. Stephens High School in Hickory, NC, before she moved to Germany in the summer of 2017.

Barbershop

Barbershop is an American a cappella style, which originated at the beginning of the 20th century and is overseen since 1938 by the „Society for the preservation and encouragement of Barbershop quartet singing in America" or simply "Barbershop Harmony Society". At least all the male quartets and choirs. Although recently it opened membership status to female singers.

The German Barbershop society, BinG!, also offers a home to all mixed choirs and quartets and thus also to the Munich Show Chorus. It's true, we are not a pure Barbershop choir but sing all kinds of strange music.

But the young founder of the MSC Alexander Kulessa is one of them hardcore Barbershoppers. He was the baritone of „Kavaliersdelikt“, the best male quartet at the German Barbershop championshipa 2016 and 2018 and has won the gold medal at the world championship for male Barbershop choirs in the ranks of the „Masters of Harmony“ in 2011.

male quota

The sound of a choir depends on many factors: the singers' individual expertise in vocal techniques, choir spacing and formation, the unity of sections and the balancing between sections. In mixed ensembles the proper balancing of male to female voices is one of the key ingredients for creating an amazing sound.

Therefore the MSC is composed of men and women in equal ratio. As our experience shows, more women tend to be interested in joining the choir then men – thus we introduced a male quota of 50%. And contrary to many German companies listed in the DAX – we keep our good resolutions.

And so it goes

Video And so it goes

Lyrics and Music by BILLY JOEL
Arrangement by BOB CHILCOTT

True Colors

Video True Colors

Lyrics and Music by BILLY STEINBERG and TOM KELLY
Arrangement by DYLAN BELL

Newsletter abonnieren

Munich Show Chorus

World Mixed Chorus Champion

Der Munich Show Chorus ist ein gemischter A-cappella-Chor aus München unter der Leitung von Jennifer Hoffman und Alexander Kulessa. Von Wise Guys bis Pentatonix, Doo Wop bis Barbershop, Gospel bis Klassik bringt er alles auf die Bühne.
Hauptsache a cappella!

2015 mit dem Gedanken gegründet, eine Heimat für junge, talentierte und gut ausgebildete Sängerinnen und Sänger in München zu schaffen, hat sich der Munich Show Chorus zum Shooting-Star am deutschen A-cappella-Himmel entwickelt.

Highlights der Chorgeschichte sind das Engagement am Deutschen Theater in München als Teil der professionellen Musical Produktion von "Disneys der Glöckner von Notre Dame" im Herbst 2017 und das Ersingen des Weltmeister-Titels der gemischten Barbershop-Chöre im April 2018.

live erleben

Almost Paradise

Video Almost Paradise

Text von DEAN PITCHFORD
Musik von ERIC CARMEN
Arrangement von AARON DALE

Footloose

Video Footloose

Text von KENNY LOGGINS und DEAN PITCHFORD
Musik von KENNY LOGGINS
Arrangement von AARON DALE

Auftritte

An a cappella Christmas – 16. Dezember 2018

Am Sonntag, dem 16. Dezember, entführt Sie der Munich Show Chorus gemeinsam mit dem Frauenchor Harmunichs und dem Männerchor Herrenbesuch in die wunderbare Welt der A-cappella-Weihnachtsmusik.

Weitere Informationen zum Kartenvorverkauf, Zeit und Ort finden Sie demnächst an dieser Stelle. Oder Sie abonnieren einfach unseren Newsletter. Dann kommen die Informationen immer direkt per Mail zu Ihnen.

Newsletter abonnieren

Next generation a cappella

Von der Chormusik der Sixtinischen Kappelle des 16. Jahrhunderts, über den Harmoniegesang der Comedian Harmonists Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts, Doo Wop der 1950er bis hin zur aktuellen Contemporary-a-cappella-Welle hat A-cappella-Musik einen weiten Weg zurückgelegt.

Es gilt also, viel aus der Geschichte zu lernen und ein eigenes Kapitel hinzufügen. So ist einer der Grundgedanken des Munich Show Chorus, die Sängerinnen und Sänger des Chores in Gesangstechnik, Bühnenpräsenz und Musiktheorie umfassend auszubilden und dazu zu inspirieren, eigene und neue Wege als Künstler zu beschreiten.

Musikalische Leitung

Gegründet und in den Anfangsjahren geleitet wurde der Munich Show Chorus von Alexander Kulessa, einem Barbershopper aus München. Im Januar 2018 übernahm dann Jennifer Hoffman die musikalische Entwicklung. Erst als Coach und schließlich offiziell auf dem Probenwochende im März zur musikalischen Leiterin gewählt, führte sie den Chor direkt zum Weltmeistertitel der gemischten Barbershop-Chöre im April.

Jennifer Hoffman ist US-Amerikanerin und hat einen Bachelor in Music-Education von der Lenoir-Rhyne University. Sie arbeitete 11 Jahre als Choral Director an der St. Stephens High School in Hickory, NC, bevor sie im Sommer 2017 nach München zog.

Barbershop

Barbershop ist übrigens eine US-amerikanische Unterart der A-cappella-Musik, die Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts entstand und seit 1938 von der "Society for the preservation and encouragement of Barbershop quartet singing in America" oder einfach "Barbershop Harmony Society" gehegt und gepflegt wird. Zumindest die männliche Variante.

Im deutschen Barbershop-Verband BinG! gibt es das Ganze aber auch für gemischte Besetzung und da kommt wieder der Munich Show Chorus ins Spiel. Der ist zwar kein reiner Barbershop-Chor, sondern singt alles was nicht bei drei auf den Bäumen ist.

Aber der junge Chorgründer Alexander Kulessa ist Barbershopper durch und durch. Er war der Bariton von "Kavaliersdelikt", dem besten Männerquartett bei den deutschen Barbershop-Meisterschaften 2016 und 2018, und gewann schon 2011 in den Reihen der "Masters of Harmony" die Goldmedaille bei der Weltmeisterschaft der Männer-Barbershop-Chöre.

Die Männerquote

Der Klang eines Chores hängt von vielen Faktoren ab: der gesanglichen Ausbildung der einzelnen Sängerinnen und Sänger, der Choraufstellung, der Einheit der Stimmgruppen und von der Balance der Stimmgruppen zueinander. Gerade in gemischten Ensembles ist die Ausgewogenheit der weiblichen und männlichen Stimmen eine Grundvoraussetzung für einen soliden Klang.

Deswegen besteht der Munich Show Chorus aus genauso vielen Sängern wie Sängerinnen. Wie die Erfahrung zeigt wollen aber für gewöhnlich deutlich mehr Frauen dem Chor beitreten als Männer – also haben wir eine Männerquote von 50 Prozent eingeführt. Und im Gegensatz zu so manchem DAX-notierten Unternehmen halten wir uns an unsere guten Vorsätze.

And so it goes

Video And so it goes

Text und Musik von BILLY JOEL
Arrangement von BOB CHILCOTT

True Colors

Video True Colors

Text und Musik von BILLY STEINBERG und TOM KELLY
Arrangement von DYLAN BELL